Seven Deadly Sins Series: Sloth

Small Web “Sloth”, 48”x76”, Oil, Plaster and String on Wood Panel

“Sloth”, 2014, 48”x76”, Oil, Plaster and String on Wood

I know that my work can be hard to look at and it makes sense as they essentially hold memories of pain and destruction. I always hope that my viewers will interpret what they see for themselves, but I also believe in offering a context..

This painting, the third completed for my 7 Deadly Sins Series is about the heaviness which comes from drug abuse. As a recovering addict, I wanted to portray the time when I let sloth get the best of me.

I incorporated the use of string which was pulled from a spool held in my mouth as a contemporary rendition of Lygia Clark’s Baba Antropofágica. The pulling of the string from one’s mouth is symbolic to loosing one’s insides.

The text on the right reads “Can’t you see what you do to me”, lyrics from a song by 1990’s R&B artist Total featuring Notorious B.I.G.

This painting is an (ex) love letter to Heroin.

(Deatil) “Sloth”, 48”x76”, Oil, Plaster and String on Wood

(Deatil) “Sloth”, 48”x76”, Oil, Plaster and String on Wood

Leave a Reply

